Winners of the Epic Faculty Scholars Program

The Office of Faculty of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine announced the award recipients for the first year of the Epic Faculty Scholars Program. The awardees (listed below) are faculty members who are predominantly clinicians and who proposed research projects based on electronic medical record sources of data. Each principal investigator leads a team of at least two other faculty collaborators in their submission.

The program, spearheaded by Daniel Ford, vice dean for clinical investigation and director of the ICTR and Diana Gumas, senior director of clinical research information systems for the ICTR, will provide data acquisition, storage and analysis services as well as statistical and manuscript support to the grantees from the funds allocated. The 10 recipients were selected from 62 applications submitted for the first year of funding. Janice Clements, vice dean for faculty, who helped secure the funding, stated, “This is a great start to a new program that will support our clinical faculty.” Applications for year two will be accepted beginning in August 2018.

The awardees:
Geeta Sood (Medicine)
Heather Sateia (Medicine)
Fawaz Al Ammary (Medicine)
John Probasco (Neurology)
Manisha Loss (Dermatology)
Philip Spevak (Pediatrics-Cardiology)
Donna Neale (Ob/Gyn)
Michelle Horner (Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences)
Shabina Ahmed (Medicine)
Uma Srikumaran (Orthopedic Surgery)