Indiana CTSI Annual Meeting to Focus on ‘Global to Local Health’

Glass Blue Globe with StethoscopeInvestigators, research staff and students can learn about the relationships between global and local health research, as well as resources available to support a variety of research needs, at the ninth annual meeting of the Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute (CTSI), a National Institutes of Health-funded collaboration among Indiana University, Purdue University and the University of Notre Dame.

The 2017 Indiana CTSI Annual Meeting, which will be held from 8:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Dec. 8 at IUPUI’s Hine Hall in Indianapolis, will include scientific presentations, panel discussions, networking opportunities, a poster session and keynote addresses by Dr. Dan Hartman of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation and Dr. Peter Agre, winner of the 2003 Nobel Prize in Chemistry — all with an emphasis on this year’s theme: Global to local health.

The deadline is Nov. 10 to submit abstracts for the poster session for Indiana CTSI-affiliated trainees and investigators.

Space is limited, so register now to reserve your spot at the Indiana CTSI Annual Meeting.

Read on for the full event agenda.

Indiana CTSI Annual Meeting

Friday, Dec. 8, 2017
Hine Hall Auditorium, 875 W. North St., Indianapolis, IN 46202

7:45 – 8:30 AM Registration, Hine Hall main entrance lobby
Continental Breakfast, Foyer outside of auditorium
8:30 – 8:40 AM Welcome
8:45 – 9:00 AM Bernard Nahlen, MD, director of the Eck Institute for Global Health, University of Notre Dame
 9:05 – 9:50 AM Keynote Address: Dan Hartman, MD
Director, Integrated Development
Interim director, Malaria Global Health Program
Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
 9:55 – 10:10 AM BREAK
 10:45 AM – NOON Panel Discussion: Global to Local Health Programs
Moderator: Paul Biondich, MD
– Debra Litzelman, MD, Indiana University School of Medicine and Regenstrief Institute
– Kathy Taylor, PhD, University of Notre Dame Eck Institute for Global Health
– Rachel Vreeman, MD, Indiana University School of Medicine and AMPATH Research Network
 NOON – 12:45 PM Keynote Address: Peter Agre, MD
Bloomberg Distinguished Professor
Director, Johns Hopkins Malaria Research Institute
Johns Hopkins University
 12:45 – 1:30 PM LUNCH
 1:00 – 2:30 PM Poster Session: Indiana CTSI-Affiliated Trainees and Investigators
Poster presenters will be available to discuss their research.
 2:45 PM Announcement of poster award winners
3:00 PM Adjourn